This is the "Biology Research Guide" page of the "BIOL 138" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Last Updated: Sep 11, 2017 URL: http://libguides.marin.edu/138 Print Guide
Biology Research Guide Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Book Review Assignment

For your book review assignment, you can get a copy of any of the books at a library in Marin County. You can have these books sent to College of Marin Library, or you can go to the library where they are located and check them out with your public library card or your College of Marin Library card.

Cover Art
The Web of Life - Fritjof Capra
Publication Date: 1996
"The vitality and accessibility of Fritjof Capra's ideas have made him perhaps the most eloquent spokesperson of the latest findings emerging at the frontiers of scientific, social, and philosophical thought....In "The Web of Life," Capra takes...giant step, setting forth a new scientific language to describe interrelationships and interdependence of psychological, biological, physical, social, and cultural phenomena--the "web of life."

Cover Art
Animate Earth - Stephan Harding
Publication Date: 2009
"Stephan Harding explores how Gaian science can help us to develop a sense of connectedness with the "more-than-human" world. His work is based on careful integration of rational scientific analysis with our intuition, sensing and feeling - a vitally important task at this time of severe ecological and climate crisis. Stephan Harding replaces the cold, objectifying language of science with a way of speaking of our planet as a sentient, living being rather than as a dead, inert mechanism. The book is a contemporary attempt to rediscover anima mundi (the soul of the world) through Gaian science."

Cover Art
Blessed Unrest - Paul Hawken
Publication Date: 2007
"Blessed Unrest tells the story of a worldwide movement that is largely unseen by politicians or the media. Hawken, an environmentalist and author, has spent more than a decade researching organizations dedicated to restoring the environment and fostering social justice. From billion-dollar nonprofits to single-person causes, these organizations collectively comprise the largest movement on earth. This is a movement that has no name, leader, or location, but is in every city, town, and culture. It is organizing from the bottom up and is emerging as an extraordinary and creative expression of people's needs worldwide."

Cover Art
The Omnivore's Dilemma - Michael Pollan
Publication Date: 2007
"Today, buffeted by one food fad after another, America is suffering from what can only be described as a national eating disorder. Will it be fast food tonight, or something organic? Or perhaps something we grew ourselves? The question of what to have for dinner has confronted us since man discovered fire. But as Michael Pollan explains in this revolutionary book, how we answer it now, at the dawn of the twenty-first century may determine our survival as a species."

Cover Art
What's the Economy for, Anyway? - John de Graaf and David Batker
Publication Date: 2011
"A thought-provoking, funny, readable, anti-ideological book based on the cult hit film of the same name. Here, scholars John de Graaf and David Batker tackle thirteen touchstone economic issues and challenge readers to consider just what the point of our economy is. Emphasizing powerful American ideals such as working together, pragmatism, and equality for all, de Graaf and Batker set forth a simple, powerful goal for any economic system: the greatest good for the greatest number, over the longest run."

Cover Art
This Changes Everything - Naomi Klein
Publication Date: 2014
"Klein argues that climate change isn't just another issue to be neatly filed between taxes and health care. It's an alarm that calls us to fix an economic system that is already failing us in many ways. Klein ... builds the case for how massively reducing our greenhouse emissions is our best chance to simultaneously reduce gaping inequalities, re-imagine our broken democracies, and rebuild our gutted local economies."

Cover Art
Natural Capitalism - Paul Hawken, Amory Hu Lovins, and L. Hunter Lovins
Publication Date: 1999
"Shows how cutting-edge businesses are increasing their earnings, boosting growth, reducing costs, enhancing competitiveness, & restoring the earth by harnessing a new design mentality."

Recommended Websites

Websites need to be evaluated to make sure that they are academically appropriate. Proceed with caution!

  • Images on NCBI
    A database of 3,000,000 images and figures from the National Center for Biotechnology Information. These images relate to the life sciences and medicine.
  • Natural Resources Conservation Service
    The NRCS (formerly the Soil Conservation Service) is a conservation leader for all natural resources, ensuring private lands are conserved.
  • PLANTS
    Produced by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, the PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
  • The California Environmental Protection Agency
    The Cal/EPA was created in 1991 by Governor's Executive Order. The six Boards, Departments and Office were placed within the Cal/EPA "umbrella" to create a cabinet level voice for the protection of human health and the environment and to assure the coordinated deployment of State resources. Our mission is to restore, protect and enhance the environment, to ensure public health, environmental quality and economic vitality
  • U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
  • U.S. Nonindigenous Aquatic Species
    A database of information on the occurrence and distribution of introduced aquatic species, focusing on freshwater organisms and fishes.
 

Biology

 

Image retrieved from:  Flickr

Welcome Joe Mueller's BIOL/ENVS 138 Students!

Here are library resources to support you.

Reference

  • Science in Context: Environmental Science
    Science in Context features authoritative information on earth science, life science, space, technology, mathematics and science history and biography.
  • Credo Reference: Environmental Science Mind Map
    A great starting point for research on any topic. Includes over 600 titles with particular emphasis on encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks.
  • Environmental Science: Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library contains college-level subject-specific encyclopedias; good starting point; get an overview of a topic and identify some keywords you can use to search for articles. TIP: These articles are a good starting point, but not necessarily up-to-date.

Get Help from the Library

The Kentfield Library will close at 5 pm on Wednesday, November 22.

Both Libraries will be closed November 23–26, 2017.

Kentfield Campus
Learning Resource Center, 2nd Floor
835 College Avenue
Kentfield, CA 94904
(415) 485 - 9656
 
2017 Fall Semester Hours:
Monday - Thursday:         8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Friday:                              8:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Weekends:                       Closed
 
Indian Valley Campus
Main Building, Room 124 
1800 Ignacio Boulevard
Novato, CA 94949
(415) 883 - 2211, ext 8505
 
2017 Fall Semester Hours:
Monday, Tuesday:            10:00 AM - 6:00 PM     
Wednesday, Thursday:      8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday - Sunday:                Closed

Articles

  • Academic Search Complete
    Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database and thus can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at College of Marin. It includes magazine articles, newspaper articles, and academic journal articles.
  • SuperSearch  
      
    SuperSearch provides an easy, yet powerful means of accessing most of the library’s information resources through a single search. Simply enter your search query to retrieve results from over thirty databases. SuperSearch is available through the MyCOM Portal, on the Library/Learning Resources tab.
  • GreenFILE
    Covers various aspects of human impact to the environment; draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines.
 

Books

Search for books online using the catalog:

The Library has many textbooks and course materials available at the front desk.  Search by course or by instructor:

      • Course Reserves

You can also browse for books by subject in the College of Marin Library using the Library of Congress Classification System:

S        Agriculture
QM Anatomy
QL Animals
QH Biology
QK Botany
QL Veterinary Science
QL Zoology

From The Library of Congress

 

LC Classification

Subject

GE10

Dictionaries and encyclopedias

GE20

Directories

GE25-GE35

Communication in environmental sciences

GE42

Environmental ethics

GE50-GE56

History of environmental sciences

GE70-GE90

Environmental education, study and teaching

GE95-GE100

Museums and exhibitions

GE105

General works

GE123

Handbooks, manuals, etc.

GE140-GE146

Environmental quality and degradation

GE149-GE160

Global environmental change

GE170-GE199

Environmental policy

QC882-QC994.9

Atmospheric pollutants, atmospheric greenhouse effect, global warming

QE38

Environmental geology

QH72-QH77

Nature conservation, landscape protection

TD169-TD1066

Industrial environmental protection and control

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip