This is the "Art Research Guide" page of the " Art & Architecture" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Art & Architecture  

Last Updated: Nov 8, 2016 URL: http://libguides.marin.edu/ArtAndArchitecture Print Guide
Art Research Guide Print Page
  Search: 
 

Reference

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library contains college-level subject-specific encyclopedias; good starting point; get an overview of a topic and identify some keywords you can use to search for articles.

Recommended Databases for Art & Architecture

  • Academic Search Complete
    Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database and thus can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at College of Marin. It includes magazine articles, newspaper articles, and academic journal articles. Use this database to search for articles written about an artist, a particular style of art, or critiques of art.
  • ARTstor
    ARTstor is a digital image database where you can find thousands of high-resolution images from art, the physical sciences, and other courses that use visual images. These images are available to COM students, staff, and faculty for academic use. Your instructor may also make particular selections from ARTstor available to you through MyCOM portal.
  • Oxford Art Online
    A comprehensive art information resource with access to 45,000 articles, 500,000 biographical citations, 86,000 cross-references, 720,000 index entries, and images from the Bridgeman Art Library and other external image links.
  • SuperSearch  
      
    SuperSearch provides an easy, yet powerful means of accessing most of the library’s information resources through a single search. Simply enter your search query to retrieve results from over thirty databases. SuperSearch is available through the MyCOM Portal. From the "Services" tab, scroll to the "Library" section and select "Library Search." Then look for the SuperSearch box at the top center of the page.
 

A-Z List of Databases at College of Marin

The databases listed on this page are recommended for Art. However, depending on your research topic the library may have other databases that you might find useful.

Please click here for a list of all of the library's databases.

 

Find Art Books in the COM Libraries

Search for books online using the catalog:

The Library has many textbooks and course materials available at the front desk.  Search by course or by instructor:

You can also browse for books by subject in the College of Marin Library using the Library of Congress Classification System:

N        Fine Arts  
NA Architecture
NB Sculpture
NC Graphic Arts
ND Painting
NE Engraving
NK Ceramics, Textiles

 From The Library of Congress

 

Recommended Websites for Art

Websites need to be evaluated to make sure that they are academically appropriate. Proceed with caution!

  • Internet Public Library: Fine Arts
    This collection of websites, selected by librarians, covers architecture, collectors and collecting, craft and folk art, graphic arts and design, performing arts, photography and film, and visual arts.
  • Smarthistory
    "Smarthistory.org is a free, not-for-profit, multi-media web-book designed as a dynamic enhancement (or even substitute) for the traditional art history textbook."
  • Google Art Project
    "The Art Project is a collaboration between Google and 151 acclaimed art partners from across 40 countries. Users can explore a wide range of artworks at brushstroke level detail, take a virtual tour of a museum and even build their own collections to share."
  • Web Gallery of Art
    With this site you can search for art by author (artist), timeline, school, form, type, location, title, or by text associated with the art (technique, size, date). This site provides beautiful pictures of the artwork, of which you can zoom in to see the details and change the background color of the page in case the artwork has light edges. Along with information about the physical piece of art, the site provides some information about
  • ArtCyclopedia
    The Artcyclopedia editors have compiled a comprehensive index of every artist represented at hundreds of museum sites, image archives, and other online resources. Artcyclopedia only provides references to sites on the World Wide Web where artists' works can be viewed online and the vast majority of the artists in their database specialize in painting and sculpture. They have a searchable index of over 1200 arts sites, and offer more than 32,000 links to an estimated 100,000 works by 7,500 renowned artists. A great resource for researching particular artists.
  • World Art Treasures
    The Jacques-Edouard Berger Fondation offers World Art Treasures, an impressive site for learning about art and artists through the ages. The site offers lectures and itineraries of the cultural tours, an Artists Slide Library, slides by Country, Region, and City, a Periods Slide Library, Essays, an Audio Section to listen to the different lectures, a Zoom function, and "Puzzle," a chance to click on a piece of a master work and drag to correct place. Lectures and itineraries include Tell el Amarna, Capital of the Disk, Roman Portraits from Egypt, The enchanted gardens of the Renaissance, Sandro Botticelli, Caravaggio: The Night Prince, Johannes Vermeer, and more. There is also an interactive timeline.
  • Digital Archive of Art: Online Images from Boston College
    This site provides images of paintings and sculptures by century and style. The site provides some artists for each style of which you can look at some of their artwork.
  • Museum of Modern Art
    You can search the MoMA by keyword, artist, work, and decade. This site provides detailed information about the artworks in its collection, such as title, author, date, medium, dimensions, and other detailed information about the artwork.
  • ArtLex: Art Dictionary
    This is a dictionary of art of which “you can study [types of] media, techniques, styles, genres, and cultural contexts of the art and artists about which your teachers expect you to become knowledgeable.” You can search the index on the left side of the page by alphabetical order, special topic, or you can use the search box to search for something specific.
 

ART

Sandro Botticelli - Birth of Venus
Tempera on canvas, 1.72×2.78 m, c. 1484
(Florence, Galleria degli Uffizi)
Photo credit: Scala/Art Resource, NY
Retrieved from:  Oxford Art Online

Course Guides

The following guides are designed for a specific course or assignment.

Get Help from the Library

 
Kentfield Campus
Learning Resource Center, 2nd Floor
835 College Avenue
Kentfield, CA 94904
(415) 485 - 9656
 
2017 Fall Semester Hours:
Monday - Thursday:         8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Friday:                                8:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Weekends:                       Closed
 
Indian Valley Campus
Main Building, Room 124 
1800 Ignacio Boulevard
Novato, CA 94949
(415) 883 - 2211, ext 8505
 
2017 Fall Semester Hours:
Monday, Tuesday:            10:00 AM - 6:00 PM     
Wednesday, Thursday:    8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday - Sunday:                Closed

Frequently Asked Questions

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip