This is the "Home" page of the "ENGL 150 - Kelly" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ENGL 150 - Kelly  

Last Updated: Feb 8, 2016 URL: http://libguides.marin.edu/ENGL150/Kelly Print Guide
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome Professor Kelly's English 150 Students!

Welcome Professor Kelly's English 150 student!

Here are some resources from College of Marin Library that are especially helpful for your English assignments.  Please click here for a list of all of the library's databases.


This guide will help you:

  • Use encyclopedia articles to build background knowledge
  • Identify appropriate databases for your essays and research paper
  • Navigate through databases
  • Limit or refine your search
  • Use advanced research techniques

Get Help from the Library

Kentfield Campus
Learning Resource Center, 2nd Floor
415.485.9656

Fall Semester Hours:
Mon-Thurs:        8 am - 8 pm
Fri:                     8 am - 2 pm
Weekends:        Closed

Librarian Research Help:
Mon-Thur:        8 am - 8 pm
Fri:                  9 am - 2 pm

Indian
Valley Campus
Bdg 27 (Main Building), Room 124
415.883.2211 Ext. 8505
 
Fall Semester Hours:
Mon, Tues:        10 am - 6 pm
Wed, Thurs:        8 am - 4 pm     
Fri:                    Closed
Weekends:        Closed

Librarian Research Help:

Mon-Thur:           10 am - 2 pm

Get Help with Writing & Learning

COM Library can help with research. Need help with writing and other aspects of your project? The Learning Resources Center is ready to help!

  • The Writing Center
    415.457.8811 ext. 7609

    Kentfield, LC 120
    Monday - Thursday 7:30 am - 7 pm
    Friday 10 am - 2 pm

    Indian Valley, Building 17, Room 100
    Monday 4 pm - 6 pm

    Help with writing assignments for all courses: develop ideas for a paper; check for organization in a paper; work on revision techniques; no appointments necessary
  • Tutoring & Learning Center
    Kentfield Campus
    Learning Resources Center
    Second floor, Room 160
    (415) 485-9620
    Mon, Tues, Thurs, and Fri: 9 am to 4:30 pm
    Wed: 9 am to 6 pm

    Indian Valley Campus, Building 17, Room 100
    (415) 457-8811 extension 8231.
    Building 17 is open Mon-Thurs 1:00-7:30, Fri 10:30-5:00, and tutoring at IVC may happen in various places at various times, depending on the semester and the subject

    Free drop-in peer-tutoring for many subjects, including biology, business, chemistry, foreign languages, history, math, medical assisting, and more
  • Online Writing Center
    Accessed through MyCOM; click on "Services," scroll down to the "Online Writing Center" box, and click on the link.

    Quick, friendly, and useful online feedback on your writing!
  • English Skills Lab
    Kentfield, LC 120
    IVC, Building 17, Room 100
    415.457.8811 ext. 7609

    Courses designed to help students develop the reading and writing skills necessary for success and confidence in their college experience. Classes taught in the lab are individualized and self-paced. Diagnostic tests are available to guide students in their choice of course.
 

College of Marin Library Resources to Support Your Argument!

Academic Search Complete Database

ASC200.gif Academic Search Complete is College of Marin's best database for many subjects. It is a powerful, multidisciplinary database and thus can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at College of Marin.  It includes: 

  • Magazine articles
  • Academic journal articles
  • Newspaper articles

Gale Virtual Reference Library Database

Gale Virtual Reference Library  Gale Virtual Reference Library contains college-level subject-specific encyclopedias; good starting point; get an overview of a topic and identify some keywords you can use to search for articles.

Points of View Reference Center Database

Please note Professor Kelly's guidance: "Understand which aspects of your topic are fact, which are opinion, and which are belief. Research topics based solely on belief are poor research topics. This is why ready-made pro-con topics such as abortion, drinking age, legalization of marijuana, animal rights, and euthanasia are unacceptable. They are based on beliefs and, as such, are not arguable in an academic context."

Points of View Reference Center  Contains many topics, each with:

  • an overview (objective background)
  • point (argument) and
  • counterpoint (opposing argument)

For each topic, this database also offers a Guide to Critical Analysis. Providing a balance of materials from all viewpoints, Points of View Reference Center includes over 1,300 main essays, leading political magazines, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.

CQ Researcher Database

  CQ Researcher includes current, hot topic reports providing unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.

Frequently Asked Questions

  

Answers to College of Marin students' most frequent questions about:

Library Catalogs

open book

 

 

 

Photo Credit

Use the library catalog to find books, textbooks, DVDs, CDs and more from College of Marin Library and throughout MARINet, Marin County's library system.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip