This is the "English Research Guide" page of the " English" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

English  

Last Updated: Nov 8, 2016 URL: http://libguides.marin.edu/English Print Guide
English Research Guide Print Page
  Search: 
 

Reference

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library contains college-level subject-specific encyclopedias; good starting point; get an overview of a topic and identify some keywords you can use to search for articles.

Articles

  • Academic Search Complete
    Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database and thus can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at College of Marin. It includes magazine articles, newspaper articles, and academic journal articles.
  • SuperSearch  
      
    SuperSearch provides an easy, yet powerful means of accessing most of the library’s information resources through a single search. Simply enter your search query to retrieve results from over thirty databases. SuperSearch is available through the MyCOM Portal, on the Library/Learning Resources tab.
  • Literary Reference Center Plus
    Literary Reference Center Plus features an expansive collection of author biographies, plot summaries, work overviews, full-text essays, literary magazines, journals, and book reviews.
  • CQ Researcher
    CQ Researcher includes current, hot topic reports providing unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports include: Introduction, overview, background, current situation, outlook, pro/con, chronology, short features, maps/graphs, and a bibliography.
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context
 

A-Z List of Databases at College of Marin

The databases listed on this page are recommended for Biology. However, depending on your research topic the library may have other databases that you might find useful.

Please click here for a list of all of the library's databases.

 

Books

Search for books online using the catalog:                 

The Library has many textbooks and course materials available at the front desk.  Search by course or by instructor:

You can also browse for books by subject in the College of Marin Library using the Library of Congress Classification System:

PN      Literary & History Collections
PS Literature (America)
PZ Literature (Children's)
PR Literature (English)
HQ Fiction
PE

Writing Skills

PE Dictionaries (English)
PF - PM  Dictionaries (Foreign Language)

From The Library of Congress

 

English

Leo Cullum. The New Yorker Collection. Retrieved from ARTstor.

Course Guides

Here are College of Marin Library research guides designed for specific courses.

Get Help from the Library

Kentfield
Learning Resources Center
2nd Floor
(415) 485 - 9656
 
2017 Spring Semester Hours:
Mon-Thurs:       8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Fri:                      8:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Weekends:       Closed
 

Indian Valley Campus
Main Building, Room 124
(415) 883 - 2211, ext 8505
 
2017 Spring Semester Hours:
Mon, Tues:      10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wed, Thurs:    8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Fri:                    Closed
Weekends:     Closed

Frequently Asked Questions

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip