This is the "Anthropology Research Guide" page of the " Anthropology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Anthropology  

Last Updated: Nov 8, 2016 URL: http://libguides.marin.edu/anthropology Print Guide
Anthropology Research Guide Print Page
  Search: 
 

Reference

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library contains college-level subject-specific encyclopedias; good starting point; get an overview of a topic and identify some keywords you can use to search for articles.

Articles

  • Academic Search Complete
    Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database and thus can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at College of Marin. It includes magazine articles, newspaper articles, and academic journal articles.
  • SuperSearch  
      
    SuperSearch provides an easy, yet powerful means of accessing most of the library’s information resources through a single search. Simply enter your search query to retrieve results from over thirty databases. SuperSearch is available through the MyCOM Portal, on the Library/Learning Resources tab.
  • America: History & Life
    America: History and Life with Full Text is an excellent database for finding information on the history and culture of the United States and Canada. In this database you will find: Magazine and journal articles, book chapters, and book reviews.
  • History Reference Center
    The History Reference Center database features full text for more than 200 leading history periodicals and over 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books. Includes 57,000 historical documents, more than 80,000 biographies of historical figures, historical photos & maps and more than 80 hours of historical video.
  • African American Experience
    African American Experience is the definitive electronic research tool for African American history and culture from one of the most respected publishers in the field. Drawing on over 300 titles, and designed under the guidance of leading librarians, this database gives voice to the black experience from its African origins to the present day.
  • ARTstor
    ARTstor is a digital image database where you can find thousands of high-resolution images from art, the physical sciences, and other courses that use visual images. These images are available to COM students, staff, and faculty for academic use. Your instructor may also make particular selections from ARTstor available to you through MyCOM portal.
  • Oxford Art Online
    A comprehensive art information resource with access to 45,000 articles, 500,000 biographical citations, 86,000 cross-references, 720,000 index entries, and images from the Bridgeman Art Library and other external image links.
  • Book Index with Reviews
    Book Index with Reviews is a book review database. In this database, you will find Title listings and reviews of books, music and movies, and 650,000 tables of contents.
 

A-Z List of Databases at College of Marin

The databases listed on this page are recommended for Biology. However, depending on your research topic the library may have other databases that you might find useful.

Please click here for a list of all of the library's databases.

 

Books

Search for books online using the catalog:

The Library also has many textbooks and course materials available at the front desk.  Search catalog for your textbooks.

You can also browse for books by subject in the College of Marin Library using the Library of Congress Classification System:

GN        Anthropology
CC Archaeology
E American History
F Local History
F   856 - 870        California History
CB History of Civilization

D

World History

 CT

Biography

 

 

 

 

 

 

From The Library of Congress

 

Anthropology

 
Statue of Xochipilli - From the National Museum of Anthropology, Mexico City
Image retrieved from Wikimedia 

Course Guides

The following guides are designed for a specific course or assignment.

Get Help from the Library

 
Kentfield Campus
Learning Resource Center, 2nd Floor
835 College Avenue
Kentfield, CA 94904
(415) 485 - 9656
 
 
2017 Spring Semester Hours:
Monday - Thursday:      8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday:                             8:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Weekends:                     Closed
 
Indian Valley Campus
Main Building, Room 124 
1800 Ignacio Boulevard
Novato, CA 94949
(415) 883 - 2211, ext 8505
 
 
2017 Spring Semester Hours:
Monday, Tuesday:            10:00 AM - 6:00 PM     
Wednesday, Thursday:    8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday - Sunday:               Closed

Frequently Asked Questions

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip