This is the "Automotive Collision Repair Technology / Automotive Technology Research Guide" page of the " Automotive Collision Repair Technology / Automotive Technology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Automotive Collision Repair Technology / Automotive Technology  

Last Updated: Aug 18, 2016 URL: http://libguides.marin.edu/auto Print Guide
Automotive Collision Repair Technology / Automotive Technology Research Guide Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Automotive

Image from: Google

Welcome Automotive Collision Repair and Automovite Technology Instructors and Students!

Here are some resources available through the IVC Library. Let us know how we can help!

Reference

  • Auto Repair Reference Center
    Repair and maintenance information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles. Drawings and step-by-step photographs
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library contains college-level subject-specific encyclopedias; good starting point; get an overview of a topic and identify some keywords you can use to search for articles.

Recommended Websites

Websites need to be evaluated to make sure that they are academically appropriate. Proceed with caution!

  • About Autos  
      
    Consumer oriented web site contains numerous articles on many aspects of car repair. Includes topics like brakes, transmissions, and electrical systems troubleshooting. Explains functions of various car parts in layman's terms.
  • Auto MD
    Consumer focused web site with hundreds of "how to" guides and videos on "do-it-yourself" car repair.

    How to Guides include:
    •Body & Interior
    •Engine
    •Transmissions & Drivetrains
    •Brakes
    •Steering & Suspension
    •Preventive Maintenance

    Sampling of videos include:
    •How to Adjust a Hood Release Latch
    •How to Adjust Misaligned Headlights
    •How to Bleed Brakes with a Tool
    •How to Check Brake Fluid Level
    •How to Check for Loose Steering System Parts
    •How to Check for Loose/Worn Suspension Components
    •How to Check For Power Steering Fluid Level
    •How to Check the Engine Light Status
    •How to Check the Engine Oil (Castrol)
    •How to Check the Tires Air Pressure
    •How to Check Tire Pressure
    •How to Fill and Replace the Transmission Fluid
    •How to Flush Brake Fluid
    •How to Inspect a Steering Rack
    •How to Inspect AC Line or Hose

  • How Cars Work
    Consumer web site with a diverse assortment of articles on automotive repair and maintenance as well as many other interesting topics including:
    •Is "new car smell" toxic?
    •How Lemon Laws Work
    •Should You Wash Your Car Naturally with Rain?
    •How Car Engines Work
    •How Diesel Engines Work
    •How Manual Transmissions Work
    •How Clutches Work
    •How Torque Converters Work
    •How Brakes Work
    •How Four Wheel Drive Works
    •How Cruise Control Systems Work
    •How Odometers Work
    •How Power Door Locks Work
    •How Remote Entry Works
    •How Turbochargers Work
    •How Turn Signals Work
    •How Windshield Wipers Work
    •10 Best Green Cars


  • Hybrid Cars  
      
    Commercial web site sells cars and parts, but also contains valuable information on industry news and research. Also includes open forums on hybrid cars where anyone can post questions or read previous posts.

    Research categories include:
    •Buying Guide
    •Culture & Market
    •Environment
    •Fuels
    •Gas Mileage
    •Incentives & Laws
    •Oil Dependence
    •Technology

  • Society of Automotive Engineers International (SAE)
    SAE is a major professional and trade association for the automotive industry. They publish research findings and create industry standards. Although most of the standards and research papers on this web site are for sale, SAE also includes many articles and videos that can be accessed for free and hosts some very active discussion forums.
 

Books

Search for books online using the catalog:

The Marinet Library Catalog lists more than 60 automotive repair books and manuals, including the Chilton's and Hayned series.  Automotive repair books and manuals are available at the College of Marin Libraries as well as more than ten public libraries in Marin County.

The Library has many textbooks and course materials available at the front desk. Search by course or instructor.

Automotive Technology Principles, Diagnosis and Service

Automotive Technology Principles, Diagnosis and Service (4th edition)

by James D. Halderman

You can also browse for books by subject in the College of Marin Library using the Library of Congress Classification System:

T        Technology
TJ Mechanical Engineering
TK Electrical Engineering
TL Motor Vehicles, Aeronautics

From The Library of Congress

Print Magazines at IVC Library

Automotive EngineeringAutomotive NewsMotor TrendRoad & Track

  • Automotive Engineering
    Industry news and articles.
    Published by the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) International.
    Monthly publication.
    IVC has most issues from 2011 to present.
    Not in library catalog.
  • Automotive News
    Industry news.
    Weekly publication.
    2012 to present at IVC.
  • Motor Trend
    Industry news and articles.
    Monthly publication
    2012 to present at IVC.
  • Road & Track
    Contains industry news, articles and new car reviews.
    Published ten times per year.
    2012 to present at IVC.
    2008 to present at Kentfield

Articles

  • SuperSearch Database  
      
    SuperSearch provides an easy, yet powerful means of accessing most of the library’s information resources through a single search.

    Log in to MyCOM, click "Services," scroll down to "Library" and click "Library Search."

    Then, simply enter your search query to retrieve results from over thirty databases.
  • Motor Magazine Digital Edition
    Welcome to MOTOR Magazine! Each online issue is an exact digital copy of the print edition, with exciting added features that allow you to click on underlined areas to send an email or visit a website. You can access and search across all available issues.
  • Zinio Digital Magazines
    Full color digital versions of popular magazines to read online or download with free mobile apps.
    Includes more than 25 magazines with an automotive focus.
    Need to create a free account to access

Meet Your Librarian!

Subject Guide

Profile Image
David Grossman

Get Help from the Library

Kentfield
Learning Resources Center
2nd Floor
(415) 485 - 9656
 
2016 Fall Semester Hours:
Mon-Thurs:       8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Fri:                      8:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Weekends:       Closed
 

Indian Valley Campus
Main Building, Room 124
(415) 883 - 2211, ext 8505
 
2016 Fall Semester Hours:
Mon, Tues:      10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wed, Thurs:    8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Fri:                    Closed
Weekends:     Closed

Frequently Asked Questions

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip