This is the "Biology Research Guide" page of the " Biology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Biology  

Last Updated: Aug 19, 2016 URL: http://libguides.marin.edu/biology Print Guide
Biology Research Guide Print Page
  Search: 
 

Reference

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library contains college-level subject-specific encyclopedias; good starting point; get an overview of a topic and identify some keywords you can use to search for articles.
  • Science in Context
    Science in Context features authoritative information on earth science, life science, space, technology, mathematics and science history and biography.

Articles

  • Academic Search Complete
    Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database and thus can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at College of Marin. It includes magazine articles, newspaper articles, and academic journal articles.
  • Science in Context
    Science in Context features authoritative information on earth science, life science, space, technology, mathematics and science history and biography.
  • SuperSearch  
      
    SuperSearch provides an easy, yet powerful means of accessing most of the library’s information resources through a single search. Simply enter your search query to retrieve results from over thirty databases. SuperSearch is available through the MyCOM Portal, on the Library/Learning Resources tab.
  • Medline
    Medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and more. From the National Library of Medicine.
  • GreenFILE
    Covers various aspects of human impact to the environment; draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines.
  • Consumer Health Complete
    Consumer-oriented information; offers overall coverage of health-related topics.
  • Health Source - Consumer Edition
    Easy-to-read information on many health topics.
  • Health Source - Nursing / Academic Edition
 

A-Z List of Databases at College of Marin

The databases listed on this page are recommended for Biology. However, depending on your research topic the library may have other databases that you might find useful.

Please click here for a list of all of the library's databases.

 

Books

Search for books online using the catalog:

The Library has many textbooks and course materials available at the front desk.  Search by course or by instructor:

      • Course Reserves

You can also browse for books by subject in the College of Marin Library using the Library of Congress Classification System:

S        Agriculture
QM Anatomy
QL Animals
QH Biology
QK Botany
QL Veterinary Science
QL Zoology

From The Library of Congress

Recommended Websites

Websites need to be evaluated to make sure that they are academically appropriate. Proceed with caution!

  • Images on NCBI
    A database of 3,000,000 images and figures from the National Center for Biotechnology Information. These images relate to the life sciences and medicine.
  • Natural Resources Conservation Service
    The NRCS (formerly the Soil Conservation Service) is a conservation leader for all natural resources, ensuring private lands are conserved.
  • PLANTS
    Produced by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, the PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
  • The California Environmental Protection Agency
    The Cal/EPA was created in 1991 by Governor's Executive Order. The six Boards, Departments and Office were placed within the Cal/EPA "umbrella" to create a cabinet level voice for the protection of human health and the environment and to assure the coordinated deployment of State resources. Our mission is to restore, protect and enhance the environment, to ensure public health, environmental quality and economic vitality
  • U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
  • U.S. Nonindigenous Aquatic Species
    A database of information on the occurrence and distribution of introduced aquatic species, focusing on freshwater organisms and fishes.
 

Biology

 

Image retrieved from:  Flickr

Course Guides

The following guides are designed for a specific course or assignment.

Get Help from the Library

 
Kentfield Campus
Learning Resource Center, 2nd Floor
835 College Avenue
Kentfield, CA 94904
(415) 485 - 9656
 
 
2017 Spring Semester Hours:
Monday - Thursday:      8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday:                             8:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Weekends:                     Closed
 
Indian Valley Campus
Main Building, Room 124 
1800 Ignacio Boulevard
Novato, CA 94949
(415) 883 - 2211, ext 8505
 
 
2017 Spring Semester Hours:
Monday, Tuesday:            10:00 AM - 6:00 PM     
Wednesday, Thursday:    8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday - Sunday:               Closed

Frequently Asked Questions

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip