This is the "Business Research Guide" page of the " Business" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Business  

Last Updated: Nov 8, 2016 URL: http://libguides.marin.edu/business Print Guide
Business Research Guide Print Page
  Search: 
 

Reference

Reference materials help you find background information on a topic, and are a great place to begin your research. 

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library contains college-level subject-specific encyclopedias; good starting point; get an overview of a topic and identify some keywords you can use to search for articles.
  • Business Online Reference Books
    Business Online Reference Books is a part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library Database. It contains background information on business topics.

Articles

These databases help you find articles from newspapers, magazines, professional and trade publications, and scholarly journals.

  • Academic Search Complete
    Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database and thus can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at College of Marin. It includes magazine articles, newspaper articles, and academic journal articles.
  • Business Source Complete
    Business Source Complete offers some of the most important scholarly business journals, dating back as far as 1886. Also includes business books and monographs, company profiles, industry reports, market research reports, SWOT analyses, executive and analyst interviews, country economic reports, case studies, faculty seminar videos, and author profiles for the most-cited authors.
  • Business Source Complete: American Business Law Journal
    Access American Business Law Journal through the Library's Business Source Complete Database. This jouranl contains commentary and review essays on all aspects of business law. Note that content from the most recent 18 months are not available due to publisher's restrictions.
  • Small Business Reference Center
    Small Business Reference Center offers a wide variety of information on small business and entrepreneurial subject areas, common business types, a help and advice section, and provides information on how to create business plans that lead to successful funding.
  • Small Business Reference Center: Start Up Guide
    The Library's Small Business Reference Center Database offers a Start Up Guide. The Start Up Guide provides demographic data, information on taxes and incentives, potential financing opportunities, information on any required licenses or permits, links to small business support and development organizations.
  • Small Business Reference Center: Venulex Legal Summaries
    The Library's Small Business Reference Center Database includes Venulex Legal Summaries. Venulex Legal Summaries provide current summaries of legal and regulatory developments that affect business organizations, from leading law firms.
  • SuperSearch  
      
    SuperSearch provides an easy, yet powerful means of accessing most of the library’s information resources through a single search. Simply enter your search query to retrieve results from over thirty databases. SuperSearch is available through the MyCOM Portal, on the Library/Learning Resources tab.
 

A-Z List of Databases at College of Marin

The databases listed on this page are recommended for Biology. However, depending on your research topic the library may have other databases that you might find useful.

Please click here for a list of all of the library's databases.

 

Books

Search for books online using the catalog:

The Library has many textbooks and course materials available at the front desk.  Search by course or by instructor:

You can also browse for books by subject in the College of Marin Library using the Library of Congress Classification System:

HB    Economic Theory, Demography
HC Economic History and Conditions
HD Industries, Land Use, Labor
HE Transportation and Communications
HF Commerce
HG Finance
HJ Public Finance
KF 800   Business Law

 

From The Library of Congress

Recommended Websites

Recommended business websites from BRASS, the Business Reference and Services Section of the References and Services Association, a division of the American Library Association.

 

Business Resources at College of Marin Library

Course Guides

The following guides are designed for a specific course or assignment.

Get Help from the Library

 
Kentfield Campus
Learning Resource Center, 2nd Floor
835 College Avenue
Kentfield, CA 94904
(415) 485 - 9656
 
Closed May 27 - June 11
2017 Summer Semester Hours:
Monday - Thursday:      8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday:                             Closed
Weekends:                    Closed
 
Indian Valley Campus
Main Building, Room 124 
1800 Ignacio Boulevard
Novato, CA 94949
(415) 883 - 2211, ext 8505
 
 Closed May 27 - June 11
2017 Summer Semester Hours:
Tuesday, Wednesday:        9:30 AM - 6:30 PM     
Monday, Thursday:              Closed
Friday - Sunday:                  Closed

Frequently Asked Questions

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip