This is the "Career Exploration" page of the "Career Exploration " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Career Exploration  

Last Updated: Oct 27, 2016 URL: http://libguides.marin.edu/careerexploration Print Guide
Career Exploration Print Page
  Search: 
 

Websites With Information About Careers

  • Occupational Outlook Handbook
    This Web site corresponds with the Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) published by the U.S. Department of Labor Statistics. The handbook and Web site is a nationally recognized source of information, designed to provide assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives. It includes information about occupations, compensation, training requirements, and typical work.
  • The O*NET
    The O*NET Web site lists occupations with required skills, knowledge, interests, activities, worker characteristics and occupational experience. The O*Net system, uses a common language and terminology to describe occupational requirements, which supersedes the Dictionary of Occupational Titles.
  • California Career Zone
    This site provides information about California jobs. There is information about assessment, careers, occupational information and links to job openings in California. Many occupational descriptions include career videos.
  • California Occupational Guides
    The California Occupational Guides are a series of about 300 information sheets covering individual occupations or groups of related occupations. They provide statewide information about job duties, working conditions, employment outlook, wages, benefits, entrance requirements, and training.
 

Print Books With Information About Careers

Browse for books in the College of Marin Library's reference section.  Look for call numbers near HF 5380 for information about vocational guidance, resumes, interviewing.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance - Sarah Dalton (Editor)
ISBN: 9780816083138
Publication Date: 2010
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance is the most comprehensive career reference in print. This unparalleled resource contains more than 700 articles that have been fully revised and updated to contain the most accurate and current career information available.

Cover Art
Occupational Outlook Handbook 2013-2014 - U. S. Department of Labor Staff
ISBN: 9781616086183
Publication Date: 2013
The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a publication of the United States Department of Labor's Bureau of Labor Statistics that includes information about the nature of work, working conditions, training and education, earnings, and job outlook for hundreds of different occupations. The Handbook is released biennially.
NOTE: This book is also available online (see above).

 

Online Books With Information About Careers

The following are online books related to career research:

Cover Art
Career Information Center - Thomson Gale Staff
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2006
"Provides information for job seekers on careers in computers and business. Each profile includes a job summary chart, a job description, and up-to-date salary information."

Cover Art
Careers and Occupations - Brian Hoyle
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2006
This volume focuses on the social and moral issues surrounding careers and occupations.

Additional Websites for Career Exploration and Job Hunting

  • California Career Zone
    This site provides information about California jobs. There is information about assessment, careers, occupational information and links to job openings in California. Many occupational descriptions include career videos.
  • California Wage Data
  • Federal Job Digest
    America's leading US Federal employment newspaper. Immediate government openings in your occupation and geographic area. Most jobs require no written test.
  • Eureka
    One of the oldest and most successful career and educational information systems in the country.
  • Salary.com
    Tools for calculating your salary in different ways, tips for negotiating salaries, information about benefits, interview techniques, trends
  • Bay Area Career Guide
    Free online resource to discover, understand and pursue hundreds of career and technical education (CTE) opportunities at San Francisco Bay Area’s 26 community colleges.
  • University of California, Davis - Internship and Career Center
    Find help if you're unsure about your career path, search careers by interest area, and much more!
 

What's Your Path?

Image retrieved from:  Cachinko

Get Help from the Library

Kentfield
Learning Resources Center
2nd Floor
(415) 485 - 9656
 
2016 Fall Semester Hours:
Mon-Thurs:       8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Fri:                      8:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Weekends:       Closed
 

Indian Valley Campus
Main Building, Room 124
(415) 883 - 2211, ext 8505
 
2016 Fall Semester Hours:
Mon, Tues:      10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wed, Thurs:    8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Fri:                    Closed
Weekends:     Closed
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip