This is the "Find Articles Through Our Databases" page of the "Get Started" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Get Started  

Last Updated: Aug 19, 2017 URL: http://libguides.marin.edu/gettingstarted Print Guide

Find Articles Through Our Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Databases From On & Off Campus

The College of Marin Library subscribes to a number of databases, which provide online access to articles, books, and more. Access the databases on campus and off campus:

On Campus: Click on any database to access it

Off Campus: Click on any database. You will be asked to enter MyCOM username and password

 

Why Use Library Databases?

Library Databases:

  • Are paid for by the Library so that you can have free access to scholarly information.
  • Content is evaluated for authority and accuracy.
  • Information is stable, meaning it doesn't disappear after a period of time.
  • Through subject pages it is easy to find databases with information that relates specifically to your topic
  • Offer options to quickly limit or expand your search results to find the best articles for your topic.
  • Databases can have a specific focus, such as History Reference Center, or can be more general, such as Academic Search Complete.
  • College of Marin Library has approximately 50 databases. Our most popular databases:

The Internet:

  • Many sources are free, but others require you to pay.
  • Information is not evaluated for accuracy and may be incorrect, misleading or biased.
  • Websites come and go.
  • Is not organized.
  • Search engines (like Google) often return an overwhelming number of results.  These search engines offer no quick way of narrowing your results to ensure they relate to your topic.
 
Adapted from: 
 

SuperSearch

SuperSearch provides an easy, yet powerful means of accessing most of the library’s information resources through a single search. Simply enter your search query to retrieve results from over forty databases.  SuperSearch does not search:
  • Automotive Repair Reference Center
  • Global Issues In Context
  • Science: Journal from AAAS

Databases at College of Marin, A-Z

Publications Locator: Search for Specific Periodicals

Want to know if the Library has access to a particular magazine, newspaper, or academic journal? 

Want to know what periodicals the library has for a subject (For example: psychology journals and magazines)?

Publications Locator

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip