1a. Select a Topic1b. Develop Research Questions1c. Identify Keywords1d. Find Background Information1e. Refine a Topic
2a. Books & E-Books2b. Videos & Images2c. Articles2d. Websites2e. Grey Literature2f. Search Strategies
3a. Evaluate Sources3b. Primary vs. Secondary3c. Types of Periodicals
4a. Take Notes4b. Outline the Paper4c. Incorporate Source Material
5a. Avoid Plagiarism5b. MLA Citation Style5c. Works Cited Examples5d. Annotated Bibliographies
This is the "Home" page of the "FILM/HUM 109 Digital Library - Crosby" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

FILM/HUM 109 Digital Library - Crosby  

History of Cinema, taught by Professor Crosby
Last Updated: Nov 14, 2016 URL: http://libguides.marin.edu/crosby109 Print Guide

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome FILM/HUM 109 Students!

Welcome! This is a digital library for Professor Crosby's essay on cinema history in HUM/FILM 109

From the assignment handout:

"For this assignment you must complete a three to five-page essay on a topic of your choosing as long as it relates to cinema, or uses cinema in an attempt to examine some aspect of culture, economics, politics or society."

Online Reference

Start here! Choose your topic, narrow your topic, build background knowledge and learn key dates, concepts, names, and vocabulary before delving into more specific information.

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library contains college-level subject-specific encyclopedias; good starting point; get an overview of a topic and identify some keywords you can use to search for articles.
  • The Emergence of Cinema: The American Cinema to 1907
    "Provides an overview of the beginnings of cinema through the first boom in the specialized moving-picture theaters known as nickelodeons, looking at the initial years of projected motion pictures and their aural accompaniment from 1895 to the fall of 1907. Early American cinema is examined as an industry and as an influential cultural practice in the context of a centuries-long history of projected images."
  • The Transformation of Cinema, 1907-1915
    "Chronicles the history of the American film business from the days of the little store-show nickelodeon to the premiere of D. W. Griffith's The Birth of A Nation, looking at the imbalance of the "Griffith did it all" cliche by discussing the efforts of countless lesser-known figures who also helped to create Hollywood and shape the growing American film industry. The effect of the surroundings are all examined for their impact on the filmgoing experience."
  • An Evening's Entertainment: The Age of the Silent Feature Picture, 1915-1928
    "Chronicles how theatrical feature films dominated newly developed movie palaces, how expressive film faces became household names, and how Hollywood became the center of film as a major growth industry."
  • The Talkies: America's Cinema Transition to Sound, 1926-1931
    "Chronicles the film industry's transition from silent films to sound cinema as it takes a critical step on its way to becoming the modern business enterprise of the 1930s."
  • Grand Design: Hollywood as a Modern Business Enterprise, 1930-1939
    "Studies the advent of color, big musicals, the studio system and the beginning of institutionalized censorship which made the thirties the defining decade for Hollywood, the decade that ended with 'The Greatest Year in Motion Pictures' - the year of 'Gone With the Wind', 'The Wizard of Oz', 'Mr Smith Goes to Washington' and other classics."
  • Boom and Bust: The American Cinema in the 1940s
    "Covers the period of 1939-1949, when the film industry came to grips with the development of the documentary, a shift to independent production, renewed government antitrust activity, and the emergence of television as a competitor."
  • Transforming the Screen, 1950-1959
    "Explores the challenges American cinema faced in the 1950's from the divorce of production companies from theater chains forced by an anti- trust decision, to the growth of television."
  • The Sixties: 1960-1969: History of the American Cinema
    "Examines the issues of this period, including competition with other leisure activities, transformation of the theater, changes in production, and the arrival of conglomerates."
  • Lost Illusions: American Cinema in the Shadow of Watergate and Vietnam, 1970-1979
    "Looks at how the emergence of new technology, such as steadicam and Dolby sound, and a new generation of talent challenged the old ways, with films like 'Nashville' and 'Five Easy Pieces'."
  • A New Pot of Gold: Hollywood Under the Electronic Rainbow, 1980-1989
    "Looks at the effects of video-cassettes and cable television on Hollywood, and the idiosyncratic visions of newcomers like Spike Lee and Tim Burton."
  • International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers
    "Provides thorough coverage of films and filmmakers, including legendary films, actors and actresses, directors, writers and other production artists. Entries include a detailed essay written by an expert; biographies; filmographies; comprehensive credits; major awards; and updated bibliographies, as well as photographs. General and professional audiences."
  • Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film
    "This reference provides a comprehensive and accessible introduction to film and film studies, covering such aspects as production, national traditions, studios, genres, critical theory and film history."

Articles

In these databases, you'll find specific information related to your research topic. Note: Many of these articles come with citations, which makes your life easier when creating notes and/or bibliographies.

  • Academic Search Complete
    Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database and thus can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at College of Marin. It includes magazine articles, newspaper articles, and academic journal articles.
  • SuperSearch  
      
    SuperSearch provides an easy, yet powerful means of accessing most of the library’s information resources through a single search. Simply enter your search query to retrieve results from over thirty databases. SuperSearch is available through the MyCOM Portal, on the Library/Learning Resources tab.
  • America: History & Life
    America: History and Life with Full Text is an excellent database for finding information on the history and culture of the United States and Canada. In this database you will find: Magazine and journal articles, book chapters, and book reviews.
  • History Reference Center
    The History Reference Center database features full text for more than 200 leading history periodicals and over 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books. Includes 57,000 historical documents, more than 80,000 biographies of historical figures, historical photos & maps and more than 80 hours of historical video.
 

A-Z List of Databases at College of Marin

The databases listed above are recommended for cinema history. However, depending on your research topic the library may have other databases that you might find useful.

A to Z List of College of Marin Library Databases

Frequently Asked Questions

Get Help from the Library

Kentfield Campus
Learning Resource Center, 2nd Floor
415.485.9656

Spring Semester Hours:
Mon-Thurs:        8 am - 8 pm
Fri:                     8 am - 2 pm
Weekends:        Closed

Librarian Research Help:
Mon-Thur:        8 am - 8 pm
Fri:                  9 am - 2 pm

Indian
Valley Campus
Bdg 27 (Main Building), Room 124
415.883.2211 Ext. 8505
 
Spring Semester Hours:
Mon, Tues:        10 am - 6 pm
Wed, Thurs:        8 am - 4 pm     
Fri:                    Closed
Weekends:        Closed

Librarian Research Help:

Mon-Thur:           10 am - 2 pm
 

Books

Search for books online using the catalog:

The Library has many textbooks and course materials available at the front desk.  Search by course or by instructor:

You can also browse for books in the College of Marin Library using the Library of Congress Classification System. We have an amazing collection of books on movies. Ask a librarian for help, or follow the signs on the bookshelves. Here is the best place to browse in our library:

PN 1993 to PN 1999    Books about Motion Pictures

Learn More about the Library of Congress Classification System

 

Books on Film History in College of Marin Library

These books are just a few of the many books on movies in College of Marin Library. Use the call number to find the book on the shelf, or ask a librarian to help you find it.

Cover Art
Film - Michael Wood
Call Number: PN1994 .W65
Publication Date: 2012

Cover Art
An Empire of Their Own: How the Jews Invented Hollywood - Neal Gabler
Call Number: PN1993.5.U65 G28 1989
Publication Date: 1989

Cover Art
Film Music: A Very Short Introduction - Kathryn Marie Kalinak
Call Number: ML2075 .K33 2010
Publication Date: 2010




Cover Art
Hollywood: The First Hundred Years - Bruce Torrence
Call Number: F869.H74 T67 1982
Publication Date: 1982


Cover Art
The Whole Equation: A History of Hollywood - David Thomson
Call Number: PN1993.5.U65 T56 2005
Publication Date: 2005

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip