Last Updated: Nov 8, 2016
Early Childhood Education Research Guide
- Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database and thus can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at College of Marin. It includes magazine articles, newspaper articles, and academic journal articles.
SuperSearch provides an easy, yet powerful means of accessing most of the library’s information resources through a single search. Simply enter your search query to retrieve results from over thirty databases. SuperSearch is available through the MyCOM Portal, on the Library/Learning Resources tab.
- Vocational Studies Complete
Journals and books with associates program level content.
- Professional Development Collection
Educational resources ranging from from ethical issues in education to teaching practices; journal articles, reports, educational magazine articles.
- Literary Reference Center Plus
Author biographies, plot summaries, work overviews, full-text essays, literary magazines, journals, and book reviews.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Covers information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, and mental processes.
- MasterFILE Premier
Covers general reference, business, health, education, general science, and more; magazine articles, reference sources, and primary source documents.
- SocINDEX with Full Text
Sociology journals, books, and conference papers. Includes content related to early childhood education.
- Primary Search
Popular magazines for elementary school research; each article is assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles).
The databases listed on this page are recommended for Biology. However, depending on your research topic the library may have other databases that you might find useful.
Please click here for a list of all of the library's databases.
Search for books online using the catalog:
The Library has many textbooks and course materials available at the front desk. Search by course or by instructor:
You can also browse for books by subject in the College of Marin Library using the Library of Congress Classification System:
||Early Childhood Education
||Education (General), Guides to Colleges
||History of Education
||Financial Aid, Theory, & Practice of Education
||Social Aspects of Education
From The Library of Congress
Websites need to be evaluated to make sure that they are academically appropriate. Proceed with caution!
- Early Childhood NEWS
Earlychildhood NEWS features articles about child development, developmentally appropriate practices, health and safety, behavior and guidance, assessment and much more.
ERIC - the Education Resources Information Center - is an online digital library of education research and information. ERIC is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education.
- Head Start
Head Start is a federal program that promotes the school readiness of children ages birth to five from low-income families by enhancing their cognitive, social, and emotional development.
- Internet Public Library: Early Childhood and Pre-School
This collection of websites, selected by librarians, covers early childhood and pre-school education.
Founded in 1926, The National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC) is the world's largest organization working on behalf of young children.
NECTAC is the national early childhood technical assistance center supported by the U.S. Department of Education's Office of Special Education Programs (OSEP).
The mission of the National Head Start Association is to coalesce, inspire and support the Head Start field as a leader in early childhood development and education.
The following guides are designed for a specific course or assignment.
Learning Resources Center
(415) 485 - 9656
2017 Fall Semester Hours:
Mon-Thurs: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Fri: 8:00 AM - 2:oo PM
Indian Valley Campus
Main Building, Room 124
(415) 883 - 2211, ext 8505
2017 Fall Semester Hours:
Mon, Tues: 10 AM - 6 PM
Wed, Thurs: 8 AM - 4 PM