ESL Resources at College of Marin Library
Welcome Professor Lieberman's ESL 66 students!
The resources listed are recommended for ESL 66 students. However, depending on your research topic the library may have other databases that you might find useful.
Please click here for a list of all of the library's databases.
English Language Learners Reference Center
Read It! database "was created for anyone who has a good foundation in English grammar and reading skills. It is a place to find reading material about many subjects. Articles are short, and written to support your reading skills as you learn about topics in English that you need for school and everyday life."
Mango Languages is an online language-learning system that can help you learn languages like English, Spanish, French, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, German, Mandarin Chinese, Greek, Italian and more.
Mango Languages is brought to you by MARINet, a consortium of all public libraries and one university library in Marin County. College of Marin will be joining MARINet in July, 2014.
1. Copy and paste this URL into the URL box at the top of the page:
2. Find Mango Languages under "Language Learning Tools"
3. Log in with your public library card from any public library in Marin County, not your College of Marin card. Don't have a card? Get a card!
Mango Languages offers these programs for learning English:
- اانجليزي للمصريين
- الإنجليزية للمتحدثين بالعربية
- անգլերեն հայերի համար
- Anglais pour Francophones
- English for Children
- Englisch für Deutschsprachige
- Αγγλικα Για Έλληνες
- Inglese per Italiani
- 한국인을 위한 영어
- Angielski Dla Polaków
- Inglês para Brasileiros
- Английский Для Русскоговорящих
- Inglés Para Hablantes De Español
- Türkçe Konuşanlar için İngilizce
- Tiếng Anh Cho Người Việt Nam
Student Reference Center Database
Student Research Center quickly searches general reference, magazines, and newspapers in one search! This database includes Academic Search Premier, Newspaper Source Plus, Health Source: Consumer Edition, and MAS Ultra.
Leo Cullum. The New Yorker Collection. Retrieved from ARTstor.
Get Help from the Library
Learning Resource Center, 2nd Floor
Fri: 8 am - 2 pm
Librarian Research Help:
Mon-Thur: 8 am - 8 pm
Indian Valley Campus
Bdg 27 (Main Building), Room 124
415.883.2211 Ext. 8505
Mon, Tues: 10 am - 6 pm
Librarian Research Help:
Mon-Thur: 10 am - 2 pm
Get Help with Writing & Learning
COM Library can help with research. Need help with writing and other aspects of your project? The Learning Resources Center is ready to help!
Frequently Asked Questions
Answers to College of Marin students' most frequent questions about:
- A - Z List of Databases at College of Marin Library
- Citing Sources
- Copyright for Faculty at College of Marin
- Evaluating Websites
- Fake News
- Finding Books
- Finding Government Statistics
- Get Started
- Getting a Library Card and Checking Out Books
- Google Scholar
- How to Read a Scholarly Article
- How-To Videos: Tips for Advanced Research & More!
- Magazines and Newspapers in Print at COM Libraries
- Research Process: A Step-By-Step Guide
- Search Techniques
- Thesis Statements
- Types of Sources
- Upcoming Events at College of Marin Library
- What is Peer-Reviewed Research?