This is the "About the Project" page of the "Collection Development Flex Project" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Collection Development Flex Project  

Last Updated: Sep 16, 2015 URL: http://libguides.marin.edu/flex/cd Print Guide

About the Project Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Collection Development Defined

The primary goal of the Library collection is to support the curriculum and instructional programs of College of Marin as outlined by the five education pursuits included in the College of Marin Mission Statement [1]:
  • Preparation for Transfer to Four-Year Colleges and Universities
  • Associate Degrees and Certificates
  • Workforce Education
  • Basic Skills Improvement
  • Lifelong Learning and Community and Cultural Enrichment
The Library collection shall include a variety of resources in subject areas not covered by classroom instruction, but are generally supportive of a learning environment. The library also collects popular or general interest materials as they relate to the needs and interests of the college community. For members of the community whose needs are beyond the scope of library collections, faculty librarians may help to identify and locate such materials at nearby libraries.
 
The Library will acquire and make available materials in various formats, evaluate existing collections, and develop procedures to maintain the quality of collections and information resources. 
 
The faculty librarians strive to provide a collection which represents many viewpoints. Acquisition of materials does not imply endorsement of the contents or the views expressed in those materials. No material will be excluded from the collection because of the race, nationality, religion, gender, sexual orientation, political or social viewpoint, or controversial nature of either the author or of the material.

[1] In accordance with the current College of Marin Mission Statement.

 

What's Involved

As part of the accreditation process, the College of Marin faculty librarians are working to assess and rebuild the Library's book collection. The first step to rebuilding our collection begins with “weeding,” which is library speak for choosing which materials to discard. Weeding entails reviewing the current titles based on currency and relevance to our students, faculty, staff, curriculum, and mission. Although faculty librarians are ultimately responsible for collection decisions, we would greatly appreciate the expertise of our highly knowledgeable discipline faculty to help us thin out the collection and make room for more materials. We also encourage you to suggest new items for adding to the collection. The time you spend on this project will earn you up to 5 flex hours this semester!
 
Part 1: Review Titles in your Subject Area
  • Email your liaison librarian to schedule a time to meet.
  • During this initial meeting, the librarian will point you to the appropriate section(s) of the collection and explain logistics of indicating what should stay and what should be discarded. This meeting will take 10-minutes.
  • The librarians would love to stay and work side-by-side discipline faculty after the initial meeting, however we realize this may not always be possible. Discipline faculty may work individually after the initial meeting or come back later to work throughout the semester.
  • To receive flex credit, we ask that faculty spend 1-5 hours weeding.
  • You may or may not get through your entire section. Any help is appreciated!
  • If you get through your section quickly, we recommend spending more time on Part 2.
Part 2: Recommend New Titles for Purchase
  • Email your liaison librarian with titles you'd like the Library to purchase. When possible, include a direct link from Amazon.com.
  • If you do not have specific titles in mind, indicate general areas for development.
  • Send one aggregated list, or individual titles as you think of them.
  • Let us know if a recommendation supports a specific course and/or professional development. This is great information for accreditation!
  • Indicate high priority items the librarians should consider purchasing right away.
  • Keep in mind: The Library may not be able fulfill every recommendation. We'll do our best!
 Part 3: Faculty "Faves" Book Spotlights
  • Find a title you love in your subject area? Let us know!
  • We'll include an insert to draw students' attention to the book within the collection!
  • Our goal is to highlight a book for each discipline faculty member who participates in the flex project!
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip