This is the "Geology Research Guide" page of the " Geology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Geology  

Last Updated: Nov 15, 2016 URL: http://libguides.marin.edu/geology Print Guide
Geology Research Guide Print Page
  Search: 
 

Reference

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library contains college-level subject-specific encyclopedias; good starting point; get an overview of a topic and identify some keywords you can use to search for articles.
  • Science in Context
    Science in Context features authoritative information on earth science, life science, space, technology, mathematics and science history and biography.

Articles

  • Academic Search Complete
    Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database and thus can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at College of Marin. It includes magazine articles, newspaper articles, and academic journal articles.
  • Science in Context
    Science in Context features authoritative information on earth science, life science, space, technology, mathematics and science history and biography.
  • SuperSearch  
      
    SuperSearch provides an easy, yet powerful means of accessing most of the library’s information resources through a single search. Simply enter your search query to retrieve results from over thirty databases. SuperSearch is available through the MyCOM Portal, on the Library/Learning Resources tab.
  • GreenFILE
    Covers various aspects of human impact to the environment; draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines.
 

A-Z List of Databases at College of Marin

The databases listed on this page are recommended for Biology. However, depending on your research topic the library may have other databases that you might find useful.

Please click here for a list of all of the library's databases.

 

Books

Search for books online using the catalog:

The Library has many textbooks and course materials available at the front desk.  Search by course or by instructor:

You can also browse for books by subject in the College of Marin Library using the Library of Congress Classification System:

QE       Geology
G Geography
G Maps & Atlases
GF Human Geography
GE Environmental Sciences
QH Natural History

From The Library of Congress

Recommended Websites

Websites need to be evaluated to make sure that they are academically appropriate. Proceed with caution!

  • California Geological Survey (CGS)
    CGS is dedicated to the fulfillment of its mission to provide scientific products and services about the state's geology, seismology and mineral resources that affect the health, safety, and business interests of the people of California.
  • California Geological Survey Digital Archive  
      
    The California Geological Survey Digital Archive is a portal to historic images, texts, and maps detailing the mining and geologic history of California and the west. The collections found here document over 150 years of service in California from the Gold Rush to the Loma Prieta Earthquake. New collections and items will be continually added to the site, so please check back periodically for updates.
  • U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
    The USGS is a science organization that provides impartial information on the health of our ecosystems and environment, the natural hazards that threaten us, the natural resources we rely on, the impacts of climate and land-use change, and the core science systems that help us provide timely, relevant, and useable information.
  • Natural Resources Conservation Service
    The NRCS (formerly the Soil Conservation Service) is a conservation leader for all natural resources, ensuring private lands are conserved.
  • The California Environmental Protection Agency
    The Cal/EPA was created in 1991 by Governor's Executive Order. The six Boards, Departments and Office were placed within the Cal/EPA "umbrella" to create a cabinet level voice for the protection of human health and the environment and to assure the coordinated deployment of State resources. Our mission is to restore, protect and enhance the environment, to ensure public health, environmental quality and economic vitality
  • U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
    The mission of The United States Environmental Protection Agency is to protect human health and the environment.
 

Geology

 

Image retrieved from:  Education Portal

Course Guides

The following guides are designed for a specific course or assignment.

Get Help from the Library

Kentfield
Learning Resources Center
2nd Floor
(415) 485 - 9656
 
2017 Spring Semester Hours:
Mon-Thurs:       8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Fri:                      8:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Weekends:       Closed
 

Indian Valley Campus
Main Building, Room 124
(415) 883 - 2211, ext 8505
 
2017 Spring Semester Hours:
Mon, Tues:      10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wed, Thurs:    8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Fri:                    Closed
Weekends:     Closed

Frequently Asked Questions

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip