This is the "Home" page of the "ENGL 120 - Hersch (fall 2015)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ENGL 120 - Hersch (fall 2015)  

Last Updated: Oct 29, 2015 URL: http://libguides.marin.edu/hersch2015 Print Guide
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

Welcome! Here are resources for researching your topics for ENGL 120

 

  • Gun Control
  • Animal Experimentation
  • Free College Tuition
  • Lowering the Drinking Age to 18

 

Proquest News & Newspapers Database

ProQuest News & Newspapers provides full-text articles from five national newspapers including the Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post.

 

TIP: Change the "Publication Date" to the last couple of years or so. Also, you can limit your search to editorials, if you want. An editorial is usually a well-informed opinion offered by the newspaper's editors. An editorial is not trying to be objective, like most newspaper and magazine articles.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Opposing Viewpoints in Context covers today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.

  • Pro/con viewpoint essays
  • Topic overviews
  • More than 300 primary source documents
  • Biographies of social activists and reformers
  • Court-case overviews
  • Periodical articles
  • Statistical tables, charts and graphs
  • Images and a link to Google Image Search
  • Podcasts, including weekly presidential addresses and premier NPR programs

Meet Your Librarian

Profile Image
David Patterson
Contact Info
(415) 457-8811, extension 7869
david.patterson@marin.edu

CQ Researcher Database

  CQ Researcher includes current, hot topic reports providing unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.

Reports include:

  • Introduction
  • Overview
  • Background
  • Current Situation
  • Outlook
  • Pro/Con
  • Chronology
  • Short Features
  • Maps/Graphs
  • Bibliography

TIP: Type "gun control," "animal experimentation," "drinking age," or "college tuition." Note the date of the reports.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip