This is the "History Research Guide" page of the " History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History  

Last Updated: Nov 17, 2016 URL: http://libguides.marin.edu/history Print Guide
History Research Guide Print Page
  Search: 
 

Reference

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library contains college-level subject-specific encyclopedias; good starting point; get an overview of a topic and identify some keywords you can use to search for articles.

Articles

  • U.S. History In Context
    U.S. History In Context features primary sources, reference articles, era overview information, magazine and journal articles, viewpoint articles, and images.
  • Academic Search Complete
    Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database and thus can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at College of Marin. It includes magazine articles, newspaper articles, and academic journal articles.
  • America: History & Life
    America: History and Life with Full Text is an excellent database for finding information on the history and culture of the United States and Canada. In this database you will find: Magazine and journal articles, book chapters, and book reviews.
  • History Reference Center
    The History Reference Center database features full text for more than 200 leading history periodicals and over 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books. Includes 57,000 historical documents, more than 80,000 biographies of historical figures, historical photos & maps and more than 80 hours of historical video.
  • World History In Context
    World History In Context offers primary sources, reference articles, era overview information, magazine and journal articles, viewpoint articles, and images
 

A-Z List of Databases at College of Marin

The databases listed on this page are recommended for Biology. However, depending on your research topic the library may have other databases that you might find useful.

Please click here for a list of all of the library's databases.

 

Books

Search for books online using the catalog:

The Library has many textbooks and course materials available at the front desk.  Search by course or by instructor:

You can also browse for books by subject in the College of Marin Library using the Library of Congress Classification System:

D       World History
E American History
F Local History
F 856 - 870    California History
F 868 Marin History
CB History of Civilization
CC Archeology
CT Biography

From The Library of Congress

 

Recommended Books for History Research

American Decades Series - Vincent Tompkins (Editor); Victor Bondi (Editor)
Call Number: 0nline
Publication Date: 2000
Decade by decade descriptions of the United States from 1900-2000

Cover Art
Dictionary of American History - Stanley I. Kutler
Call Number: online
Publication Date: 2002
Makes the voluminous record of the past readily available in one convenient source, where the interested reader can locate the facts, events, trends, or policies of American history.

Africa: An Encyclopedia for Students - John Middleton (Editor)
Call Number: online
Publication Date: 2001
Africa: An Encyclopedia for Students, offers a more coherent picture of the continent. In its pages Africa emerges as a single continent with unique geographical features, a continuous, interrelated history, and similar economic, political, and social problems.

Cover Art
The Renaissance - Paul F. Grendler
Call Number: online
Publication Date: 2003
Covers people and events beginning in Italy about 1350, then broadens geographically to embrace the rest of Europe in the middle to late fifteenth century. The coverage ends around 1620


Course Guides

Here are College of Marin Library research guides we have designed for specific courses.

Get Help from the Library

 
Kentfield Campus
Learning Resource Center, 2nd Floor
835 College Avenue
Kentfield, CA 94904
(415) 485 - 9656
 
Closed May 27 - June 11
2017 Summer Semester Hours:
Monday - Thursday:      8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday:                             Closed
Weekends:                    Closed
 
Indian Valley Campus
Main Building, Room 124 
1800 Ignacio Boulevard
Novato, CA 94949
(415) 883 - 2211, ext 8505
 
 Closed May 27 - June 11
2017 Summer Semester Hours:
Tuesday, Wednesday:        9:30 AM - 6:30 PM     
Monday, Thursday:              Closed
Friday - Sunday:                  Closed

Frequently Asked Questions

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip