This is the "Home" page of the "Intensive English Program: Level Three" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Intensive English Program: Level Three  

taught by Professors Okun, Levin, Friedman, Leung, Jones and Oser
Last Updated: Sep 5, 2017 URL: http://libguides.marin.edu/iep3 Print Guide

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome IEP Level Three Students!

Welcome IEP Level Three Students!

This guide will help you with your research projects.

 Here are some suggestions for exploring our library's databases

___________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

Ideas for Research - COM Library Online Database
For each of the ideas below, please click on the yellow tabs above

 

  1. Choose a controversial topic

Present the most common view of the problem then your point of view.  Find three strong sources that support your opinion. Cite sources

2. Research a state of the United States. Write an essay for writing class. Prepare a 5 min. presentation for SLP class. Use a slide show/powerpoint  presentation. Include some of the following information in any order:

Name of the state
Climate
State symbols (flower/bird or other animal/flag)
Population
Capital city
Top industries
Natural resources (copper mines, oil)
Cultural aspects (this is where rodeos originated due to…)
Language singularities: in CA people say awesome and dude a lot)
Political leanings (for or against legalization of same sex marriage, or medicinal pot)
Interesting aspects of physical geography (this is where the Grand Canyon is located)
Historical highlights (a battle was fought here in 1800s)
Tourist attractions you can’t miss when you visit.

                             

3.        Global Warming

4.       Ebola

____________________________________________________________________________________________________


Database Orientation

Prepared by Magda Levin

Answer the following as best as you can. Tip: Click on the yellow "Databases" tab above to answer all of these questions.

A. How many different databases are available to students?

B. Name three databases.

C. Which database would you use to potentially...

1. Research today's hottest social issues?

2. Read full-text articles from five national newspapers including the Christian Science Monitory, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post?

3. Research an artist, his most famous works and biography?

4. Read about author biographies, plot summaries and work overviews?

5. Get up-to-date information and news on countries around the world?

6. Learn how to change oil in a 2007 Honda Civic?

Meet Your Librarian

Profile Image
David Patterson
Contact Info
(415) 457-8811, extension 7869
david.patterson@marin.edu
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip