This is the "Nursing Research Guide" page of the " Nursing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Nursing  

Last Updated: Aug 15, 2017 URL: http://libguides.marin.edu/nursing Print Guide
Nursing Research Guide Print Page
  Search: 
 

Reference

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library contains college-level subject-specific encyclopedias; good starting point; get an overview of a topic and identify some keywords you can use to search for articles.
  • Science in Context
    Science in Context features authoritative information on earth science, life science, space, technology, mathematics and science history and biography.

Articles

  • SuperSearch  
      
    SuperSearch provides an easy, yet powerful means of accessing most of the library’s information resources through a single search. Simply enter your search query to retrieve results from over thirty databases. SuperSearch is available through the MyCOM Portal, on the Library/Learning Resources tab.

    SEE BELOW FOR A LIST OF ALL NURSING JOURNALS AVAILABLE IN SUPERSEARCH!
  • Academic Search Complete
    Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database and thus can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at College of Marin. It includes magazine articles, newspaper articles, and academic journal articles.
  • Science in Context
    Science in Context features authoritative information on earth science, life science, space, technology, mathematics and science history and biography.
  • Medline
    Medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and more. From the National Library of Medicine.
  • Consumer Health Complete
    Consumer-oriented information; offers overall coverage of health-related topics.
  • Health Source - Consumer Edition
    Easy-to-read information on many health topics.
  • Health Source - Nursing / Academic Edition
    Covers many health topics with a strong focus on nursing and allied health articles.
  • Science Journal
    The world's leading outlet for scientific news, commentary, and cutting-edge research, with the largest circulation of any peer-reviewed general-science journal.
    Published by AAAS, the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Access from 1997 to the current issue

Open Access Nursing Journals

The following journals provide free, full-text online access.

  • American Journal of Nursing
    The American Journal of Nursing is the oldest and most honored broad-based nursing journal in the world. Peer reviewed and evidence-based, it is considered the profession’s premier journal. AJN adheres to journalistic standards that require transparency of real and potential conflicts of interests that authors and editors may have. It follows publishing standards set by the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE; www.icmje.org), the World Association of Medical Editors (WAME; www.wame.org), and the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE; http://publicationethics.org/).
  • Nursing 2015
    Published monthly, Nursing2015 is widely regarded as offering current, practical contents to its readers, and has won many editorial awards testifying to the quality of its copy and graphics. The editorial and clinical staff, a 17-member Editorial Board of distinguished clinicians and practitioners, and over 100 invited reviewers help ensure the quality of this publication.
 

A-Z List of Databases at College of Marin

The databases listed on this page are recommended for Biology. However, depending on your research topic the library may have other databases that you might find useful.

Please click here for a list of all of the library's databases.

 

Prepare for Nursing Test

This is the official preparation book for TEAS -- the Test of Essential Academic Skills. It will help students pass the test! COM Nursing Department professors have given the library copies for students to use to prepare for the test. This book is at the library's front desk.

Cover Art
Study Manual for the Test of Essential Academic Skills (TEAS) - Assessment Technologies Institute (ATI)
Call Number: NE # 52
Publication Date: 2010
Test of Essential Academic Skills (TEAS) Pretest Study Manual. This book contains instructional materical for each of the four subject areas assessed.

NCLEX-RN - Khan Academy
Publication Date: updated 2014
Practice questions, reviews and videos to support nursing students preparing for the National Council Licensing Examination for Registered Nurses (NCLEX-RN). Reviewed under the direction of the American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN).

 

Books

Search for books online using the Library Catalog

The Library has many textbooks and course materials available at the front desk.  Search by course or by instructor: Course Reserves

You can also browse for books by subject in the College of Marin Library using the Library of Congress Classification System:

R       Medicine
RB Pathology
RC Internal Medicine
RJ Pediatrics
RT Nursing
 

Nursing

 

Image retrieved from: Occupational Outlook Handbook 

Get Help from the Library

 
Kentfield Campus
Learning Resource Center, 2nd Floor
835 College Avenue
Kentfield, CA 94904
(415) 485 - 9656
 
2017 Fall Semester Hours:
Monday - Thursday:         8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Friday:                              8:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Weekends:                       Closed
 
Indian Valley Campus
Main Building, Room 124 
1800 Ignacio Boulevard
Novato, CA 94949
(415) 883 - 2211, ext 8505
 
2017 Fall Semester Hours:
Monday, Tuesday:            10:00 AM - 6:00 PM     
Wednesday, Thursday:      8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday - Sunday:                Closed

Frequently Asked Questions

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip