This is the "Home" page of the "ENGL 150 - Pasquel" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ENGL 150 - Pasquel  

Last Updated: Nov 14, 2017 URL: http://libguides.marin.edu/pasquel Print Guide
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

CRAAP Test

Evaluating Information: 
Applying the CRAAP Test
(Borrowed from Meriam Library - California State University, Chico)

 

When you search for information, you're going to find lots of it...but is it good information? You will have to determine that for yourself, and the CRAAP Test can help. The CRAAP Test is a list of questions to help you evaluate the information you find. Different criteria will be more or less important depending on your situation or need.

Evaluation Criteria

Currency: The timeliness of the information.

  • When was the information published or posted?
  • Has the information been revised or updated?
  • Does your topic require current information, or will older sources work as well?
  • Are the links functional?

Relevance: The importance of the information for your needs. 

  • Does the information relate to your topic or answer your question?
  • Who is the intended audience?
  • Is the information at an appropriate level (i.e. not too basic or too advanced for your needs)?
  • Have you looked at a variety of sources before determining this is one you will use?
  • Would you be comfortable citing this source in your research paper?

Authority: The source of the information.

  • Who is the author/publisher/source/sponsor?
  • What are the author's credentials or organizational affiliations?
  • Is the author qualified to write on the topic?
  • Is there contact information, such as a publisher or email address?
  • Does the URL reveal anything about the author or source?  Examples: .com .edu .gov .org .net

Accuracy: The reliability, truthfulness and correctness of the content.

  • Where does the information come from?
  • Is the information supported by evidence?
  • Has the information been reviewed or refereed?
  • Can you verify any of the information in another source or from personal knowledge?
  • Does the language or tone seem unbiased and free of emotion?
  • Are there spelling, grammar or typographical errors? 

Purpose: The reason the information exists. 

  • What is the purpose of the information?  Is it to inform, teach, sell, entertain or persuade?
  • Do the authors/sponsors make their intentions or purpose clear?
  • Is the information fact, opinion or propaganda?
  • Does the point of view appear objective and impartial?
  • Are there political, ideological, cultural, religious, institutional or personal biases?
 

Welcome!

For extra credit, send me your PowerPoint, Prezi, or other presentation, etc.

davidpatterson1965@gmail.com

or

dpatterson@marin.edu 

Welcome to the library. Let's find a person in history who is "hidden." Then, let's research this person and prepare a presentation for Thursday. Just like Margot Lee Shetterly, author of Hidden Figures, brought the female African American mathematicians at NASA out of hiding, let's uncover some more hidden historical figures. Teach us about your unsung hero!

  1. Find a list of "hidden" historical figures by googling. See suggestions below. Choose someone from your list
  2. Then, type that person's name into SuperSearch
  3. If you don't find much there, then look on Wikipedia
  4. Also, do a google search, and apply the CRAAP test
  5. Prepare a presentation based on your research. Tell us about your person! What did your person do that was so great? Why do you think this person has been hidden?
  6. Practice your presentation!
  7. On Thursday, you will present your person. There will be a laptop and a TV, so you could create a PowerPoint and include pictures.
  8. Could you please cite your sources? In other words, please provide us with citations for the sources of information you find and be ready to explain why you feel your sources are credible. Why do you think this is particularly important with this type of research? Hint. Thank you!

For Step 1, here are some suggestions:

To find lists of little known historical figures, try googling using some of these words:

  • unsung
  • unknown
  • little known
  • unrecognized

Combine with a group you are interested in:

  • women
  • Latinos
  • African Americans
  • LGBT
  • Civil Rights
  • Scientists

Examples:

  • little known female scientists
  • unsung lesbians
  • unrecognized civil rights heroes

 

Databases From On & Off Campus

The College of Marin Library subscribes to a number of databases, which provide online access to articles, books, and more.

Access the databases on campus and off campus:

On Campus: Click on any database to access it

Off Campus: Click on any database. You will be asked to enter MyCOM username and password

Another way to search: SuperSearch! SuperSearch is a way to search almost all of these databases at once.

Meet Your Librarian

Profile Image
David Patterson
Contact Info
(415) 457-8811, extension 7869
david.patterson@marin.edu
 

Example of a PowerPoint for Thursday

 

SuperSearch

 
provides an easy, yet powerful means of accessing most of the library’s information resources through a single search. Simply enter your search query to retrieve results from over forty databases.
 
Why do you think Meg and I want you to start with SuperSearch rather than Google? After all Google is so much easier to use?
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip