This is the "Philosophy Research Guide" page of the " Philosophy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Philosophy  

Last Updated: Nov 8, 2016 URL: http://libguides.marin.edu/phil Print Guide

Philosophy Research Guide Print Page
  Search: 
 

Reference

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library contains college-level subject-specific encyclopedias; good starting point; get an overview of a topic and identify some keywords you can use to search for articles.
  • Oxford Reference Online
    Oxford Reference Online Premium Collection provides over 100 dictionary (English and Bilingual), language reference, and authoritative subject reference titles covering the full academic spectrum. Use this database to research biology terms, such as biome, genome, mitochondria, etc.

Articles

  • Academic Search Complete
    Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database and thus can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at College of Marin. It includes magazine articles, newspaper articles, and academic journal articles.
  • SuperSearch  
      
    SuperSearch provides an easy, yet powerful means of accessing most of the library’s information resources through a single search. Simply enter your search query to retrieve results from over thirty databases. SuperSearch is available through the MyCOM Portal, on the Library/Learning Resources tab.
  • Religion & Philosophy Collection
    Provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.

  • America: History & Life
    America: History and Life with Full Text is an excellent database for finding information on the history and culture of the United States and Canada. In this database you will find: Magazine and journal articles, book chapters, and book reviews.
  • History Reference Center
    The History Reference Center database features full text for more than 200 leading history periodicals and over 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books. Includes 57,000 historical documents, more than 80,000 biographies of historical figures, historical photos & maps and more than 80 hours of historical video.

Recommended Journals in Philosophy

 

A-Z List of Databases at College of Marin

The databases listed on this page are recommended for Biology. However, depending on your research topic the library may have other databases that you might find useful.

Please click here for a list of all of the library's databases.

 

Philosophy Books

Search for books online using the catalog:

The Library has many textbooks and course materials available at the front desk.  Search by course or by instructor:

You can also browse for books by subject in the College of Marin Library using the Library of Congress Classification System:

B        Philosphy 
B 69 General Works
B 108 Ancient
B 720 Medieval
B 770 Renaissance
B 790     Modern
B 808 Special Topics and Schools of Philosophy
B 850 by Region or Country
B 5800    by Religion
PN 1995    Motion Pictures (and Philosophy

From The Library of Congress

Recommended Websites

Websites need to be evaluated to make sure that they are academically appropriate. Proceed with caution!

 

Philosophy

Raphael. "School of Athens." circa 1510-1512. Retrieved from ARTstor database.

Course Guides

The following guides are designed for a specific course or assignment.

Get Help from the Library

 
Kentfield Campus
Learning Resource Center, 2nd Floor
835 College Avenue
Kentfield, CA 94904
(415) 485 - 9656
 
 
2017 Spring Semester Hours:
Monday - Thursday:      8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday:                             8:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Weekends:                     Closed
 
Indian Valley Campus
Main Building, Room 124 
1800 Ignacio Boulevard
Novato, CA 94949
(415) 883 - 2211, ext 8505
 
 
2017 Spring Semester Hours:
Monday, Tuesday:            10:00 AM - 6:00 PM     
Wednesday, Thursday:    8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday - Sunday:               Closed

Frequently Asked Questions

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip