This is the "Sociology" page of the " Sociology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Sociology  

Last Updated: Nov 1, 2016 URL: http://libguides.marin.edu/sociology Print Guide
Sociology Print Page
  Search: 
 

Reference

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library contains college-level subject-specific encyclopedias; good starting point; get an overview of a topic and identify some keywords you can use to search for articles.

Articles

  • Academic Search Complete
    Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database and thus can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at College of Marin. It includes magazine articles, newspaper articles, and academic journal articles.
  • Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
    Covers information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, and mental processes.
  • Consumer Health Complete
    Consumer-oriented information; offers overall coverage of health-related topics.
  • Health Source - Consumer Edition
    Easy-to-read information on many health topics.
  • Health Source - Nursing / Academic Edition
  • Facts on File
    Facts on File includes 5 databases: World News Digest, Issues & Controversies in American History, Issues and Controversies: In-Depth Investigations of Today's Top Issues, Today's Science on File, and The World Almanac Reference Database.
  • SuperSearch  
      
    SuperSearch provides an easy, yet powerful means of accessing most of the library’s information resources through a single search. Simply enter your search query to retrieve results from over thirty databases. SuperSearch is available through the MyCOM Portal, on the Library/Learning Resources tab.
 

A-Z List of Databases at College of Marin

The databases listed on this page are recommended for Biology. However, depending on your research topic the library may have other databases that you might find useful.

Please click here for a list of all of the library's databases.

 

Find Psychology Books in the COM Libraries

Search for books online using the catalog:

The Library has many textbooks and course materials available at the front desk.  Search by course or by instructor:

You can also browse for books by subject in the College of Marin Library using the Library of Congress Classification System:

H Social Sciences (General)
HM Sociology
HN Social History, Social Problems, Social Reform
HV Social Service & Welfare

From The Library of Congress

 

Psychology Encyclopedias Online

Cover Art
The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology - Bonnie B. Strickland
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2000
Length of entries ranges from brief explanations of a concept in one or two paragraphs to longer, more detailed entries on more complex topics. A brief definition of the entry term appears between the entry title and the full text of the entry.

Cover Art
Psychologists and Their Theories for Students - Kristine M. Krapp
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2004
Provides readers with in-depth information on major psychological theories, past and present, as well as the people who developed them. It explains each psychologist's theories in detail, then analyzes the historical context and critical reaction to the theories. Biographical information is also included.

Cover Art
International Dictionary of Psychoanalysis - A. de Mijolla
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2005
Shows the relationship between psychoanalysis and other disciplines, with entries discussing writers, philosophers, literary movements and historical events.

 

Psychology and Behavioral Science

 

Image retrieved from:  MMSU

Course Guides

The following guides are designed for a specific course or assignment.

Get Help from the Library

 
Kentfield Campus
Learning Resource Center, 2nd Floor
835 College Avenue
Kentfield, CA 94904
(415) 485 - 9656
 
 
2017 Spring Semester Hours:
Monday - Thursday:      8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday:                             8:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Weekends:                     Closed
 
Indian Valley Campus
Main Building, Room 124 
1800 Ignacio Boulevard
Novato, CA 94949
(415) 883 - 2211, ext 8505
 
 
2017 Spring Semester Hours:
Monday, Tuesday:            10:00 AM - 6:00 PM     
Wednesday, Thursday:    8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday - Sunday:               Closed

Frequently Asked Questions

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip