This is the "Speech Research Guide" page of the " Speech" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Speech  

Last Updated: Sep 28, 2017 URL: http://libguides.marin.edu/speech Print Guide
Speech Research Guide Print Page
  Search: 
 

Reference

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library contains college-level subject-specific encyclopedias; good starting point; get an overview of a topic and identify some keywords you can use to search for articles.
 

Featured Reference Title

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Communication and Information - Jorge Reina Schement (Editor)
Publication Date: 2002
Provides a comprehensive overview of universal modes of communication, the media used to communicate, theories of communication and their implications, careers in communications and information, and biographies of notable figures in the field. Organized for the general reader and designed to complement social studies, communications, and information systems curricula.

Articles

  • Academic Search Complete
    Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database and thus can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at College of Marin. It includes magazine articles, newspaper articles, and academic journal articles.
  • CQ Researcher
    CQ Researcher includes current, hot topic reports providing unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports include: Introduction, overview, background, current situation, outlook, pro/con, chronology, short features, maps/graphs, and a bibliography.
  • Points of View Reference Center
    Providing a balance of materials from all viewpoints, Points of View Reference Center includes over 1,300 main essays, leading political magazines, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books. Each topic includes an overview, point, counterpoint. Topic also include a Guide to Critical Analysis.

    TIP: To search this database, use the "Browse by Category" section in the middle of the page.
  • SuperSearch  
      
    SuperSearch provides an easy, yet powerful means of accessing most of the library’s information resources through a single search. Simply enter your search query to retrieve results from over thirty databases. SuperSearch is available through the MyCOM Portal, on the Library/Learning Resources tab.
  • News (AP, UPI, etc.)
    Near real-time top world-wide news from Associated Press; most recent thirty days only.
  • Newspaper Source Plus
    More than 1,000 full-text newspapers, providing more than 38 million full-text articles.
  • ProQuest US Major Dailies
    Articles from five national newspapers: The Christian Science Monitor, The Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal and The Washington Post.
  • CountryWatch
    Up-to-date news and background information on countries around the world.
 

A-Z List of Databases at College of Marin

The databases listed on this page are recommended for Biology. However, depending on your research topic the library may have other databases that you might find useful.

Please click here for a list of all of the library's databases.

 

Books

Search for books online using the catalog:

The Library has many textbooks and course materials available at the front desk.  Search by course or by instructor:

You can also browse for books by subject in the College of Marin Library using the Library of Congress Classification System:

P     Linguistics
P 95   Oral Communication
P 95 Mass Media
PE 1441, JA 74   

Persuasion, Rhetoric, Communication in Politics

BF 637 Persuasion, Interpersonal Communication, Verbal Self-Defense, Non-Verbal Communication
HM 132 Interpersonal Communication
PN 4061 Rhetoric, Oratory, Expression
PN 4062 Voice Training
PN 4181 Debating
TK 5105 Computer Networks - Social Aspects

From The Library of Congress

 

Speech

Speech

Photo Credit: Speech. Wikimedia.

Course Guides

Here are College of Marin Library research guides we have designed for specific courses.

Get Help from the Library

 
Kentfield Campus
Learning Resource Center, 2nd Floor
835 College Avenue
Kentfield, CA 94904
(415) 485 - 9656
 
2017 Fall Semester Hours:
Monday - Thursday:         8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Friday:                              8:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Weekends:                       Closed
 
Indian Valley Campus
Main Building, Room 124 
1800 Ignacio Boulevard
Novato, CA 94949
(415) 883 - 2211, ext 8505
 
2017 Fall Semester Hours:
Monday, Tuesday:            10:00 AM - 6:00 PM     
Wednesday, Thursday:      8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday - Sunday:                Closed

Frequently Asked Questions

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip